The MegaPipe image stacking pipeline

The MegaPipe image stacking pipeline The MegaCam filter set

The MegaCam filter set

This page describes the MegaCam broad-band filters and contrasts them with the SDSS and Pan-STARRS filters. The previous version of this page is available here.

There have been three generations of filters broadband filters for MegaCam. The first set (installed in 2002) a replacement for the damaged i-band filter, (installed in 2007) and the most recent set which are larger, allowing the use of the 4 wing CCDs of MegaCam (installed in 2015). The three sets are shown below. Note the wide (gri) filter in the 3rd generation.

MegaCam filter set

The filter responses shown include the full telescope (mirror+optics+CCD) response. The response curves for the mirror, optics and CCD are taken from Betoule et al. (2013) and their detailed website. The filter responses for the first and second generation of filters are also taken from that site. The filter responses for the third generation of filters is taken from the CFHT filter page The final response curves (filter+telescope+CCD) are given in text format below. The filter curves also include 1.25 airmasses of atmospheric attenuation. The filter transmissions have been measured at multiple locations accross the filter. The responses below are the average transmission.

Comparing the MegaCam, SDSS and Pan-STARRS filter sets

The figures below show the final MegaCam filter transmission functions, split by generation, together with the SDSS and Pan-STARRS filters.

MegaCam, SDSS and filter set MegaCam, SDSS and filter set MegaCam, SDSS and filter set

The transformations from SDSS and Pan-STARRS filter sets to the MegaCam filters, and from the MegaCam filters to the SDSS and Pan-STARRS filter sets are illustrated in the figures below. In each plot the, coloured dots represents synthetic photometry, computed by multiplying the filter curves above with spectra from the Pickles (1998) atlas, (shown in blue) the CALSPEC standards (shown in green) or a set of galaxy template spectra (shown in red). The black dots indicate real photometry from various MegaCam fields. The magenta line shows the fit, usually linear, but occasionally a polynomial. The coeffecients are given in magenta on each panel. Vertical magenta lines indicate where the limits of validity of a transformation.

SDSS to MegaCam

The relations for the older griz bands come from the analysis of the SNLS group. The relation for the u band comes from the CFHT MegaPipe web pages. The relation for the new i filter was calculated separately.

SDSS to MegaCam, old

The relations for the new filters is shown below. Note the expanded scale for the u-band transformation, which is a bit complicated. Also note that the u-band transformation does not go through 0,0. Finally, the gri/wide filter is not valid red-wards of g-i=1.75.

SDSS to MegaCam, new

Pan-STARRS to MegaCam

Following the Pan-STARRS convention, all the transfromations from Pan-STARRS to MegaCam are expressed in terms of a 3-rd order polynomial in g-i. Note the extremely expanded scale for the u-band. The Pan-STARRS system does not have a u-band; this transformation is an extrapolation from the g-band. This transformation also depends on metalicity and therefore on galactic latitude.

PS to MegaCam, old PS to MegaCam, new

MegaCam to SDSS

First generation: One should be sceptical of the u-band transformation.

MegaCam -> SDSS gen1

Second generation

MegaCam -> SDSS gen2

Third generation: Again, one should be sceptical of the u-band transformation.

MegaCam -> SDSS gen3

MegaCam to Pan-STARRS

First generation:

MegaCam -> PS gen1

Second generation:

MegaCam -> PS gen2

Third generation:

MegaCam -> PS gen3

Système de traitement d'images MegaPipe

Système de traitement d'images MegaPipe Le systéme de filtres MegaCam

Le systéme de filtres MegaCam

Cette page décrit les filtres à bande large de MegaCam et les contraste avec les filtres SDSS et Pan-STARRS La version précédente de cette page est disponible ici.

Il y a eu trois générations de filtres à large bande pour MegaCam. Le premier génération (installé en 2002), un remplacement pour le filtre i-band endommagé, (Installé en 2007) et l'ensemble le plus récent qui sont plus grand, permettant l'utilisation des 4 CCD, les "ailes", de MegaCam (installé en 2015). Les trois générations sont affichés ci-bas. Notez la grande filtre (gri) du troisième génération.

MegaCam filter set

Les transmissions du filtre indiquées incluent la transmission du télescope complet (miroir + optique + CCD). Les courbes de reflectance/transmission du miroir, l'optique et le CCD sont tirées de Betoule et al. (2013) et leur site web détaillé. Les transmissions du filtre pour la première et la deuxième génération de filtres sont également prises à partir de ce site. Les réponses des filtres de la troisième génération de filtres sont prises à partir de la page de filtre CFHT. Les courbes de réponse finale (filtre + télescope + CCD) sont données au format texte ci-dessous. Les courbes de filtre incluent également 1.25 airmasses d'atténuation atmosphérique. Les transmissions du filtre ont été mesurées à plusieurs endroits à travers le filtre. Les réponses ci-dessous sont la transmission moyenne.

Comparaison des ensembles des filtres MegaCam, SDSS et Pan-STARRS

Les figures ci-dessous montrent les fonctions finales de transmission de filtre MegaCam, divisées par génération, ainsi que les filtres SDSS et Pan-STARRS.

MegaCam, SDSS and filter set MegaCam, SDSS and filter set MegaCam, SDSS and filter set

Les transformations des ensembles de filtrage SDSS et Pan-STARRS vers les filtres MegaCam et des filtres MegaCam vers les ensembles de filtrage SDSS et Pan-STARRS sont illustrées dans les figures ci-dessous. Dans chaque tracé, les points colorés représentent la photométrie synthétique, calculés en multipliant les courbes de filtre ci-dessus par des spectres de l'atlas de Pickles (1998), (en bleu) les standards CALSPEC (montrées en vert) ou un ensemble de spectres de galaxie (montrées en rouge). Les points noirs indiquent une photométrie réelle à partir de différents champs MegaCam. La ligne magenta montre l'ajustement généralement linéaire, mais de fois un polynôme. Les coefficients sont donnés en magenta sur chaque panneau. Les lignes magenta verticales indiquent les limites de validité d'une transformation.

De SDSS à MegaCam

Les relations pour les bandes griz originales proviennent de l'analyse de la groupe SNLS. La relations pour la bande u vient des pages web MegaPipe TCFH. La relation de la nouvelle filtre i a été calculé separement.

SDSS to MegaCam, old

Les relations pour les nouveaux filtres sont présentées ci-dessous. Notez l'échelle élargie pour la transformation u-band, ce qui est un peu compliqué. Notez également que la transformation de la u-band ne passe pas par 0,0. Enfin, le filtre gri/large n'est pas valable pour les du côté rouge de g-i=1.75.

SDSS to MegaCam, new

De Pan-STARRS à MegaCam

Suivant la convention Pan-STARRS, toutes les transfromations de Pan-STARRS à MegaCam sont exprimées en termes de polynôme de troisième ordre dans g-i. Notez l'échelle extrêmement étendue pour la bande u. Le système Pan-STARRS ne possède pas une bande u; Cette transformation est une extrapolation de la bande g. Cette transformation dépend aussi de la métallicité, donc elle depend du latitude galactique.

PS to MegaCam, old PS to MegaCam, new

De MegaCam à SDSS

Première génération: Il faut être sceptique de la transformation u-band.

MegaCam -> SDSS gen1

Deuxième génération

MegaCam -> SDSS gen2

Troisème génération: Encore une fois, on devrait être sceptique de la transformation u-band.

MegaCam -> SDSS gen3

De MegaCam à Pan-STARRS

Première génération:

MegaCam -> PS gen1

Deuxième génération:

MegaCam -> PS gen2

Troisème génération:

MegaCam -> PS gen3