The MegaPipe image stacking pipeline

The MegaPipe image stacking pipeline Colour terms for the new MegaCam i filter

Colour terms for the new MegaCam i filter

As discussed on the MegaCam filter page, the MegaCam i filter broke in June 2007. The replacement (i.MP9702) is not identical to the original (i.MP9701). This page derives colour terms for the new MegaCam i filter.

Filter response

The figure below shows the filter curves of the new MegaCam i in black the old MegaCam i in red, and the SDSS i in blue. The MegaCam filter curves include the response of the CFHT optics. The new i filter is shifted to the blue much closer to the SDSS i than the old one.

Several i filters

Colour terms

The figure below shows the colour term for the new MegaCam i filter with respect to the SDSS system. The best fit colour term is -0.003(rSDSS-iSDSS). The old colour term is clearly not valid.

Example of a colour term measurement

The scatter in the above plot is large (about 0.05 mags). To improve the accuracy, this test was repeated for about 300 images from the CFHT archive, all taken in the new i-band, with exposure times greater than 100 seconds and lying within in the SDSS. The results are shown in the figure below. The points show measurements of the colour term as a function of CFHT exposure number. The vertical histogram shows the distribution of values. The horizontal line indicates the median colour term of -0.003. The scatter of about this value is 0.0005.

Multiple colour term measurement

Système de traitement d'images MegaPipe

Système de traitement d'images MegaPipe Termes couleurs pour le nouveau filtre i de MegaCam

Termes couleurs pour le nouveau filtre i de MegaCam

Tel que discuté sur la page de filtres MegaCam, le filtre i de MegaCam a éclaté en Juin 2007. la remplacement (i.MP9702) n'est pas identique à l'original (i.MP9701). Cette page dérive les termes de couleurs pour le nouveau filtre i MegaCam.

Transmission du filtre

La figure ci-dessous montre les courbes de le nouveau filtre MegaCam i en noir l'ancien filtreMegaCam i en rouge, et le filtre SDSS i en bleu. Les courbes de filtrage de MegaCam comprennent la transmission de l'optique TCFH. Le nouveau filtre i est décalé vers la bleue, beaucoup plus proche de la SDSS i que l'ancienne.

Plusieurs filtres i

Termes couleurs

La figure ci-dessous montre le terme de couleur pour le nouveau filtre i MegaCam par rapport au système SDSS. Le terme de couleur meilleur ajustement est -0.003 (rSDSS-iSDSS). Le vieux terme de couleur est manifestement pas valide.

Example d'un mesure des termes de couleur

La dispersion dans la figure ci-dessus est grand (environ 0,05 mags). À fin d'améliorer la précision, ce test a été répété avec environ 300 images des archives du TCFH, tous pris dans le nouveau bande i, avec une exposition supérieur à 100 secondes et se trouvant dans la SDSS. Les résultats sont présentés dans la figure ci-dessous. Les points montrent les mesures de la termes de couleur en fonction de numéro l'exposition TCFH. L'histogramme vertical montre la répartition des valeurs. La ligne horizontale indique le terme de couleur médiane de -0.003. La dispersion autour de cette valeur est 0.0005.

Plusieurs mesures de termes de couleur