The MegaPipe image stacking pipeline

The MegaPipe image stacking pipeline Checks on astrometry

Checks on astrometry

The internal astrometric accuracy (between the stacked images of a group) is typically 0.04 arcseconds radially or 0.025 in any one direction. The repeatability (the residuals between two completely independent astrometric determinations), is about 0.06 arcseconds. The external astrometric accuracy (between the stacks and the external reference frame) is typically 0.20 arcseconds radially or 0.14 in any one direction.

Internal accuracy

The internal accuracy is checked by running SExtractor on each stacked image in every band of each group and obtaining catalogues of object positions. The positional catalogues for each band are matched to each other and common objects identified. If the astrometry is perfect, then the position of an object in each band will be identical. In practice, there are astrometric residuals. Examining these residuals gives an idea of the astrometric uncertainties.

The figure below shows checks on the internal astrometry between two typical images in a group. The top left quarter shows the direction and size (greatly enlarged) of the astrometric residuals as line segments. This plot is an important diagnostic of astrometry because, while the residuals are typically quite small, there are outliers in any distribution. As long as these outliers are relatively isolated from each other and pointing in random directions all is well. Conversely, if there are a number of large residuals in close proximity to each other, all pointing the same direction, this indicates a systematic misalignment between the two images in question. The figure shows no such misalignments. The bottom left quarter shows the astrometric residuals in RA and Dec. The red histograms show the relative distribution of the residuals in both directions. The 68th percentile of the residuals is 0.060 arcseconds radially. The two right panels show the residuals in RA and Dec separately.

Internal astrometry check

Over all, the astrometric residuals are about 0.04 arcseconds (68th percentile) in a radial sense or about 0.025 in any one direction. Note that there should be a factor of √2 between these two uncertainties.

Repeatability

The test described above was applied to every pair of images within each of the groups with similar results. This of course might not be too surprising, since the images were registered to each other in the first place. For example, if there is g and i data in a group, the i image is made first and then the g data is astrometrically mapped to the i image as described in astrometric calibration documentation. Therefore, even if there are systematic errors in the i astrometry, the g data is mapped to the erroneous positions, and the residuals between the g and i image will still be small.

However, this test is also applied between images belonging to different groups. Since the astrometric calibration of one group is completely independent of that of another group, comparing the residuals between different groups is a more stringent test of the repeatability of the astrometry. The figure below shows the astrometric residuals between two groups. The different panels have the same significance as in the previous figure. Groups tend to overlap only at the edges, in a thin strip, as shown in the top left panel. Consequently, the number of common sources between two groups will be much smaller than between two stacks in the same group. The residuals in this case are 0.05 arcseconds. More typically, averaging over all the group overlaps, the repeatability is 0.06 arcseconds.

Internal astrometry check (Edges)

External accuracy

This is checked by matching the catalogue for each field back to the astrometric reference catalogue. Again, the scatter in the astrometric residuals is a measure of the uncertainty, and the presence of any localized large residuals indicates a systematic shift.

The figure below shows checks on the external astrometry. The panels have the same significance as above. The only difference is that the residuals are larger. Note that there are uncertainties in the external astrometric catalogue as well. In this case, the SDSS is used as a reference. The astrometric uncertainties inherent in the SDSS are 0.05 to 0.10 arcseconds (Pier, et al. 2003).

External astrometry check

Système de traitement d'images MegaPipe

Système de traitement d'images MegaPipe Vérifications de l'astrometrie

Vérifications de l'astrometrie

La précision astrométrique interne (entre les images empilées d'un seule groupe) est généralement 0.04 secondes d'arc radialement ou 0.025 dans une direction simple. La répétabilité (les résidus de deux déterminations astrométriques complètement indépendants), est d'environ 0.06 secondes d'arc. La précision astrométrique externe (entre les piles et le cadre de référence externe) est généralement 0.20 arcseconds radialement ou 0.14 dans une direction simple.

Précision interne

La précision interne est vérifié en exécutant SExtractor sur chaque image empilés dans chaque bande de chaque groupe et l'obtentant des catalogues de positions d'objet. Les catalogues de position pour chaque bande sont jumelés les uns aux autres et les objets communes identifiés. Si l'astrométrie est parfait, alors la position d'un objet dans chaque bande sera identique. Dans la pratique, il ya des résidus astrométriques. L'examen de ces résidus donne une idée des incertitudes astrométriques.

La figure ci-dessous montre les contrôles interne sur l'astrométrie entre deux images typiques d'un groupe. Le quart supérieur gauche indique la direction et la taille ( fortement agrandie ) des résidus astrométriques par des segments de ligne. Cette graphique est un important de diagnostic de l'astrométrie parce que, tandis que les résidus sont généralement très petit, il y a des valeurs aberrantes dans toute distribution . Tant que ces valeurs aberrantes sont relativement isolées les unes des autres et pointent dans des directions aléatoires tout va bien. Inversement, si il existe un certain nombre de grands résidus à proximité immédiate, tous pointant dans la même direction, cela indique un défaut d'alignement systématique entre les deux images en question . La figure ne montre pas de telles distorsions. Le quart inférieur gauche montre les résidus astrométriques en RA et Dec Les histogrammes rouges montrent la répartition relative des résidus dans les deux sens . Le percentile 68e des résidus est 0.060 secondes d'arc radialement. Les deux panneaux de droite montre les résidus dans RA et Dec séparément .

Contrôle de l'astrométrie interne

Dans l'ensemble, les résidus de astrométriques sont d'environ 0.04 secondes d'arc (68e percentile) dans un sens radial ou environ 0.025 dans une direction simple. Notez qu'il devrait y avoir un facteur de √2 entre ces deux incertitudes .

Répétabilité

Le test décrit ci-dessus a été appliquée à chaque paire d'images à l'intérieur de chacun des groupes avec des résultats similaires. Bien sûr, cela pourrait ne pas être trop surprenant, puisque les images ont été enregistrées à l'autre en premier lieu. Par exemple, s'il n'y a g i et les données d'un groupe, l'image i est faite en premier et ensuite les données de g est mappé astrométriquement à l'image de i comme décrit dans la documentation de la calibration astrometrique. Par conséquent, même si il ya des erreurs systématiques dans l'astrométrie i, les données de g soit appliqué aux positions erronées, et les résidus entre le g et i l'image seront toujours petit.

Cependant, ce test est également appliqué entre les images appartenant à des groupes différents. Puisque la calibration astrométrique d'un groupe est complètement indépendant de celui d'un autre groupe, en comparant les résidus entre les différents groupes est un critère plus strict de la répétabilité de l'astrométrie. La figure ci-dessout montre les résidus astrométriques entre deux groupes. Les différents panneaux ont la même signification que dans la figure précédente. Les groupes ont tendance à se chevaucher uniquement sur les bords, dans une mince bande, comme indiqué dans le panneau en haut à gauche. Par conséquent, le nombre de sources communes entre les deux groupes sera beaucoup plus petite que entre deux piles d'un même groupe. Les résidus sont dans ce cas 0.05 secondes d'arc. Plus généralement, en moyenne sur toute la chevauche groupe, la répétitivité est de 0.06 secondes d'arc.

Contrôle de l'astrométrie interne (bords)

Précision externe

Cela est vérifié par correspondance dans le catalogue pour chaque champ par rapport au catalogue de référence astrométrique. Encore une fois, la dispersion des résidus astrométriques est une mesure de l'incertitude, et la présence de grands résidus localisés indique un décalage systématique.

La figure ci-dessous montre les contrôles sur l'astrométrie externe. Les panneaux ont la même signification que ci-dessus. La seule différence est que les résidus sont plus grandes. Notez qu'il existe des incertitudes dans le catalogue astrométrique externe ainsi. Dans ce cas, le SDSS est utilisé comme référence. Les incertitudes inhérentes à l'astrométrie SDSS sont 0.05 à 0.10 secondes d'arc (Pier, et al. 2003).

Contrôle de l'astrométrie externe