The MegaPipe image stacking pipeline

The MegaPipe image stacking pipeline Deep Field stellar photometric timeseries

Deep Field stellar photometric timeseries

This page describes a set of photometric timeseries for 28108 point sources in the CFHTLS Deep Fields. The four CFHTLS Deep Fields have been observed regularly since early 2003, first as part of the CFHTLS, and subsequently as part of the standard star calibration at CFHT. The CFHTLS data are now all public and the standard star calibration images are public the night they are taken. With a 10 year baseline in time, The Deep Fields thus offer a rich data set for studying variable objects.

Method

In brief, the time series were generated as follows:

  • Selection: A catalog of point sources was selected from the Deep fields.
  • Aperture Photometry: For each source and for each image, seeing-matched aperture photometry was performed.
  • Zero-point corrections: Small zero-point corrections were applied to the magnitudes on an image-by-image basis.
  • Photometric errors: The photometric uncertainties (limited by flat fielding errors) were computed.
  • Completeness: The completeness in each band was assesed.
  • Distribution: Download the data.

Point source selection

The list of stars is generated from the "Best seeing" Deep field stacks. The stacks are described on the Deep Fields (best seeing) page, but in summary they are coadded images made from the Deep fields images with the best image quality. All the GRIZ stacks have 0.65" seeing, while the U band has 0.8" seeing. The G-band image was used as a reference. The stellar locus was identified on a plot of FWHM vs. magnitude, as shown below. FWHM here is actually determined from the half-light radius, measured in pixels and converted into FWHM in arcseconds, by multiplying by 0.32.

The figure below shows the stellar locus for one of the Deep fields. At the bright end, the upturn in FWHM shows the onset of staturation. At the faint end, the stellar locus merges with compact galaxies. The criteria for the stellar catalog were set to be 17.5>G>24 and FWHM=0.65 +/- 15% as shown by the red lines.

Stellar selection criteria

Aperture photmetry

Aperture photometry was done for each point source in each image of the 11765 images available for the CFHTLS Deep Fields. The objects position in RA and Dec was converted to an extension number and pixel (X,Y) position using the MegaPipe astrometric calibration. The objects position was further refined by fitting a Gaussian function with the appropriate FWHM the image. This re-centring typically produced a 0.1 pixel (or 0.02 arcsecond) shift in position.

The sky was determined through an annulus with an inner radius of 70 pixels and an outer radius of 90 pixels. The figure below shows a bright star. The PSF has a bright core, and fainter, sharp-edged disk of light extending further. Depending on the star's location in the mosaic, this pupil image is generally not centred on the star. The 70 pixel inner radius insures that the disk of the pupil images does not lie in the annulus.

Next, aperture photometry was performed on each source through a series of apertures. There are a variety of photometric apertures that could be used: The CFHTLS Deep Fields were calibrated using SExtractor's MAG_AUTO which is a variable aperture Kron magnitude. It is optimized for galaxies, and is thus not necessarily approriate for stars. Fixed circle apertures are better, but the seeing in the CFHTLS image varies considerably, so a variable amount of light will be included in each aperture. If the aperture is large enough that the seeing effects won't matter, too much sky will be included and the random errors will be larger. To get around this, one must apply aperture corrections to correct to infinity. Finally one can use the seeing-matched aperture as adopted by Regnault et al. (2009). Here, the aperture is a fixed multiple of the IQ. This method has the benefit of allowing relatively small apertures that capture a consistent fraction of the light, obviating the need for aperture corrections. This is the method that was adopted. The question is: what multiple of the IQ should be used? Multiples from 1 to 9 times the seeing were tested. The zero-point/aperture corrections discussed below were applied. The photometric scatter of each object was measured. The objects were grouped by magnitude and the median scatter was determined.

The figure at right shows the photometric scatter as a function of magnitude, aperture and filter. For bright sources, the smallest scatter is generally found with an aperture 4 times the seeing. For fainter objects the scatter increases monotonically with aperture. To achieve the best possible photometry for the bright objects, an aperture of 4 times the seeing was adopted.

Time series scatter as a function of magnitude, aperture and filter

The aperture photometry was done using the CANFAR processing system. The IRAF aperture photometry package was used. The Deep fields are not crowded. PSF fitting photometry (e.g. DAOphot) does not provide any significant benefit.

Aperture/zero-point corrections

The photometric calibration of the CFHTLS Deep Fields was done using SExtractor's MAG_AUTO. MAG_AUTO is a Kron magnitude, primarily used for galaxy photometry. It builds an eliptical aperture based on the second order moments of the source. The more extended the source, the larger the aperture. The aperture ends up missing a small (2%) but consistent fraction of the light from a source, regardless of it's extent. This is obviously an advantage for galaxy photometry, but in general it is thought to be poor for stellar photometry, hence the use of aperture photometry for the project.

A correction is needed to convert between aperture photometry and MAG_AUTO. It turns out that if the aperture is a multiple of the IQ (rather than a fixed number of arcseconds) this correction has a pretty consistent value. The zero-point offset were measured for each of the 11765 Deep Field images. The aperture magnitudes measured in the images and the MAG_AUTO values from the stacks were compared. Only stars that appeared in all the images for a particular Deep field and filter were included in comparison. The zero-point/aperture correction was computed using artificial skepticism (Stetson 1989) to robustly reject any outliers due to cosmic ray hits or bad columns. The results are plotted below:

The figure below shows the zero-point difference between MAG_AUTO and mag(aper) as a function of aperture for the all the images, grouped by filter. When the aperture is only twice the IQ, the correction is on the order of +0.2 mags (MAG_AUTO collects more light than the aperture magnitude). At the large aperture end, the correction is -0.05 mags. Note that the curve of growth has not fully levelled off.

Zero-point difference between MAG_AUTO and mag(aper) as a function of aper

The grey curves represent indvidual images. The coloured dots and error bars show the average and RMS at each aperture. Most of the filters show two disctinct locii. The images in the lower locus were taken during two observing runs in 2007, when it seems the PSF profile was significantly different. There about 10-20 images in this locus out of the 2000 or some images in the main locus. Other this small number of exceptions, MAG_AUTO is an excellent proxy for an IQ-matched aperture.

The lower right panel shows the average corrections for all the filters together on the same plot.

The figure below shows the variation of the zero-point corrections as a function of IQ. It plots the difference between MAG_AUTO and magnitudes measured through an aperture 4 times the IQ, separated by filter. There are slight slopes, for each filter, but the difference between IQ=0.5" and IQ=1" ranges from 0.001 mags to 0.0045 mags, slightly less than the typical scatter of 0.005 mags. The new and the old I-filter are plotted together. This causes a slightly higher scatter on this plot. The distribution also appears slightly bimodal: the lower blob corresponds to the new I-filter. Again it appears that MAG_AUTO is an excellent proxy for an IQ-matched aperture over a range of seeing conditions.

Zero-point difference between MAG_AUTO and mag(4) as function of IQ

These corrections were applied on a image-by-image basis. The corrections are available as ASCII file (DeepVarZPAP.gz).

Photometric errors

IRAF computes photometric uncertainties based on the read noise of the detector and Poission noise of the sky and the object. However it was discovered that, especially at the bright end, there was a considerably more scatter in the photometry than can be accounted for by Poisson noise alone.

This is illustrated by the figure below. The dots show the absolute difference between the magnitudes measured in a single image and the flux measured in the stacked image. The red line shows the median error as a function of magnitude The green line shows the median error as a function of magnitude reported by IRAF, which accounts for the read noise and Poission noise. At the bright end, the difference is about 0.01 magnitudes for this image. There are variations from image to image.

Error as a function of magnitude

This discrepancy is important. One would like to measure the smallest possible variation in brightnesses, and not being able to measure magnitudes to better than 1%, even at bright magnitudes is unfortunate.

Other researchers have also failed to achieve better than 1% photometry with individual MegaCam images. Although the SNLS team achieves better than 1% photometry after combining several images together, and their zero-point calibration is better than 1%, comparing individual measurements of bright stars from image to image results in a scatter of typically 2% (Fabbro, private communication) Stetson (private communication) finds that a 1% error must be added in quadrature to the Possion uncertainties to account for the measured scatter.

After carefully investigating any possible errors in the zero-point determination and aperture corrections discussed above, the conclusion was reached that the errors may be occuring in the Elixir detrending stage. Images with a larger than usual descrepancy between Poisson and measured errors were examined by eye. These images showed visible problems either with fringes (in the Z-band) or flat-fielding. Examples are shown below.

The problem with this Z-band image is poor fringe subtraction.

Fringe example

This image shows conspicuous background variations in the form of horizontal bands.

Blatant flat-fielding problem

Here the problems are more subtle, but on careful examination, one can see patterns in the background. This is a G-band image; these are not fringes.

<enSubtle flat-fielding problem>erreur de champ plat subtil

The conclusion is that although in most cases the the flat-fielding errors are too faint to be easily seen by eye, they nonetheless exist, and are responsible for the 0.01 mag floor in magnitude errors.

The magnitude errors reported in the distributed tables have been modified accordingly. The median measured errors are measured at 1 magnitude intervals for each image. This corresponds to the red line in the figure above. The errors given in the tables are linearally interpolated from these values. Below mag=22, the IRAF values are retained.

Completeness

Not every star is visible in every image. The images were taken with a dither pattern. Stars near the edge of a CCD in one image my lie completely outside the CCD in another image, either in the gap between the chips or completely outside the image area. Fainter stars may not be detected in an image taken in conditions of poor seeing, poor transparency, or increased sky brightness.

The figure below shows the recovery fraction as function of magnitude and filter. Recovery here means that the object was detected and that it's photometric uncertainty was better than 0.1 mags. Note that completeness is never 100%, because of the dithers.

Distribution

The time series are available as two tarballs each with 28108 files, one file per star. The files are in plain ASCII. The files have one row per image. When an object is not detected in a particular image, either because it was not located in a CCD or because it was too faint, the image is ommitted. Thus the files will not generally be the same length. There are two sets of files.

  • DeepVarTerse.tar.gz (625Mb): These files give you only the following:
    • Exposure midpoint (MJD)
    • Magnitude
    • Uncertainty in that magnitude
    • Number indcating the filter:
      • 1: U
      • 2: G
      • 3: R
      • 4: I
      • 5: I2
      • 6: Z
    See the MegaCam filter page for a description of the filter set, in particular the difference between the 2 I-band filters.
  • DeepVarFull.tar.gz (2.7Gb): These files give you a bit more information. Each file has a header which gives the UGRIZ magntitudes of the object in the stack, as well as links to cutouts around each object in the stacks. Each entry has a bit of extra information to allow one to trace back any unsual object back to the object's position in a particular image and ultimately back to the original photons.
    • MegaCam exposure number
    • Extension number in which object was detected
    • X and Y in pixels in that image
    • The image quality in arcseconds of the image
    • Filter is given as a letter (UGRIZ and I2)
    • A link to a cutout of around the object in the original object

Système de traitement d'images MegaPipe

Système de traitement d'images MegaPipe Séries chronologiques stellaires des Champs Profonds

Séries chronologiques stellaires des Champs Profonds

Cette page présente une série photométrique temporelle de 28108 sources ponctuelles situées dans les Champ Profonds de la CFHTLS. Les quatre secteurs des Champ Profonds de la CFHTLS ont fait l'objet d'observations régulières depuis le début de 2003, d'abord dans le cadre de la CFHTLS proprement dite, ensuite pour l'étalonnage des étoiles standard au CFHT. Toutes les données de la CFHTLS sont aujourd'hui du domaine public et les images étalonnées des étoiles standard le deviennent la nuit même de l'étalonnage. Avec des données s'étalant sur dix ans, les Champ Profonds est ensemble de données de grande valeur pour l'étude des étoiles variables.

Méthode

En résumé, la série temporelle a été produite comme suit:

  • Sélection: Un catalogue des sources ponctuelles présentes dans le champ profond a été créé.
  • Photométrie d'ouverture: Pour chaque source et pour chaque image, la photometrie à travers des d'ouverture réglée au seeing a été effectuée.
  • Correction des points zéro: Les magnitudes ont fait l'objet de petites corrections au point zéro sur chaque image.
  • Erreurs photométrique: Les incertitudes photométriques (limités par les erreurs de calibration) ont été calculés
  • Complétude: la complétude a été évaluée dans chaque bande.
  • Diffusion: Téléchargez les données

Sélection des sources ponctuelles

La liste d'étoiles est extraite des piles de "meilleures seeing" venant des Champs Profonds, dont on trouvera une description détaillée ici. Brièvement, il s'agit d'images obtenues par co-addition des images de la meilleure qualité prises dans le champ profond. La visibilité est de 0.65" pour toutes les piles des bandes GRIZ et de 0.8" pour celles de la bande U. L'image de la bande G sert d'image de référence. Le locus stellaire a été identifié sur un graphique opposant la largeur à mi-hauteur (FWHM) et la magnitude, comme on peut le voir ci-dessous. Ici, la FWHM a été établie d'après le rayon de demi-lumière en pixels, que l'on a multiplié par 0.32 pour obtenir la FWHM en secondes d'arc.

La figure ci-dessous montre le locus stellaire d'un secteur des Champ Profonds. Du côté le plus lumineux, le relèvement de la FWHM indique qu'on approche de la saturation; du côté le moins lumineux, le locus stellaire se confond avec les galaxies compactes. Le critère retenu pour peupler le catalogue était 17.5>G>24 et FWHM=0.65 +/- 15%, comme l'indiquent les lignes rouges.

Critères de sélection stellaires

Photométrie d'ouverture

On a appliqué la photométrie d'ouverture à chaque source ponctuelle sur chacune des 11765 images disponibles dans le champ profond de la CFHTLS. On a recouru à l'étalonnage astrométrique avec MegaPipe pour convertir la position des objets, exprimée en RA et en Dec, en une position exprimée par un nombre secondaire et en pixels (X,Y). La position des objets a été précisée davantage par application d'une fonction gaussienne à la FWHM de l'image. Ce recentrage décale habituellement la position de l'objet de 0.1 pixel (ou 0.02 seconde d'arc).

Le niveau du fond de ciel a été établi au moyen d'un anneau d'un rayon intérieur de 70 pixels et d'un rayon extérieur de 90 pixels. La figure ci-dessous représente une étoile brillante. La fonction d'étalement (PSF) donne un centre lumineux entouré d'un disque clair plus ténu, aux bords bien définis. Selon l'emplacement de l'étoile dans la mosaïque, il est rare que l'image de la pupille soit centrée sur l'étoile. Le rayon intérieur de 70 pixels fait en sorte que le disque des images de la pupille ne se situe pas à l'intérieur de l'anneau.

L'étape suivante consiste à appliquer la photométrie d'ouverture à chaque source en recourant à une série d'ouvertures. Plusieurs types d'ouverture peuvent être utilisés. Le champ profond de la CFHTLS a été étalonné avec la fonction MAG_AUTO de SExtractor, qui est une ouverture Kron à magnitude variable. Cette fonction donne les meilleurs résultats avec les galaxies et ne convient pas nécessairement aux étoiles. Il est préférable d'utiliser une ouverture à diamètre fixe, mais la seeing des images de la CFHTLS varie considérablement, si bien qu'il y aura fluctuation de la quantité de lumière qui traverse l'ouverture. Si l'ouverture est assez grande pour que les effets résultant de la visibilité soient négligeables, l'image inclura une trop grande partie du ciel et l'erreur attribuable au hasard sera plus importante. Pour éviter cela, il faut corriger l'ouverture en fonction de l'infini. Enfin, on peut recourir à une ouverture par visibilité/concordance comme le suggèrent Regnault et al. (2009) Dans ce cas, l'ouverture est un multiple de la qualité de l'image (IQ). La méthode a pour avantage d'autoriser des ouvertures relativement petites qui capteront une fraction cohérente de la lumière, ce qui élimine la nécessité d'une correction. C'est cette méthode qui a été retenue. Une question demeure: quel multiple de l'IQ devrait-on utiliser? Les multiples de 1 à 9 ont été testés, puis on a corrigé le point zéro et l'ouverture tel qu'indiqué ci-dessous. La dispersion photométrique de chaque objet a été établie. Les objets ont été regroupés par magnitude et on a calculé la médiane de la dispersion.

La figure ci-dessous montre la dispersion photométrique selon la magnitude, l'ouverture et le filtre. Pour les sources les plus lumineuses, on obtient généralement la dispersion la plus faible avec une ouverture égale au quadruple de la seeing. Pour les objets plus faible, la dispersion augmente de façon monotone avec l'ouverture. Une ouverture égale au quadruple de la visibilité a été retenue pour obtenir la meilleure photométrie possible avec les objets brillants.

 dispersion photométrique selon la magnitude, l'ouverture et le filtre

La photométrie d'ouverture a été réalisée avec le système de traitement CANFAR. On a recouru pour cela à la trousse de photométrie d'ouverture IRAF. Le champ profond n'est pas surencombré. Par conséquent ajuster la photométrie avec la FEP (par ex. DAOphot) ne présente aucun avantage sensible.

Correction des ouvertures/points zéro

L'étalonnage photométrique des Champs Profonds de la CFHTLS a été effectué avec la fonction MAG_AUTO de SExtractor. MAG_AUTO est une magnitude Kron, principalement employée pour la photométrie des galaxies. Elle crée une ouverture elliptique d'après les moments de deuxième ordre de la source. Plus celle-ci est étendue, plus grande sera l'ouverture. L'ouverture négligera toujours une petite (2%) fraction de la lumière émise par la source, quelle qu'en soit l'étendue. S'il s'agit de toute évidence d'un avantage pour la photométrie des galaxies, on estime généralement que cela pose un inconvénient pour la photométrie des étoiles, ce qui explique pourquoi on a préféré recourir à la photométrie d'ouverture pour le projet.

La conversion entre la photométrie d'ouverture et MAG_AUTO nécessite une correction. Il s'avère que si l'ouverture est un multiple d'IQ (plutôt qu'un nombre fixe de secondes d'arc), la correction prend une valeur assez uniforme. On mesure le décalage du point zéro pour chacune des 11765 images prises dans le champ profond, puis on compare la magnitude de l'ouverture établie avec les images aux valeurs MAG_AUTO venant des piles d'images. Seules les étoiles qui apparaissent sur toutes les images dans le secteur du champ profond pour un filtre particulier sont utilisées pour la comparaison. On corrige le point zéro et l'ouverture en appliquant le principe du scepticisme artificiel (Stetson, 1989) de manière à rejeter les aberrations attribuables aux rayons cosmiques ou aux colonnes défectueuses. Le diagramme ci-dessous présente les résultats de cette correction:

La figure ci-dessous montre l'écart entre les points zéro obtenus avec MAG_AUTO et avec la magnitude (ouverture) d'après l'ouverture, pour l'ensemble des images regroupées par filtre. Quand l'ouverture ne correspond qu'au double d'IQ, la correction est de l'ordre de +0.2 magnitude (MAG_AUTO capte plus de lumière que la magnitude de l'ouverture).Du côté de l'ouverture la plus large, la correction est de -0.05 magnitude. Soulignons que la courbe n'a pas encore totalement atteint un plateau.

Difference du point zéro entre MAG_AUTO et mag(aper) en fonction de aper

Les courbes en gris représentent des images individuelles. Les points de couleur et les barres d'erreur correspondent à la moyenne et à l'écart-type de chaque ouverture. Les plupart des filtres révèlent deux locus distincts. Les images situées dans le locus inférieur ont été prises lors de deux rondes d'observation en 2007, époque où, semble-t-il, la FEP avait un profil sensiblement différent. On compte 10 à 20 images dans ce locus, comparativement aux quelque 2000 groupées dans le locus principal. Hormis ces exceptions peu nombreuses, MAG_AUTO s'avère une excellente valeur de remplacement pour les ouvertures appariées à l'IQ.

Sur le panneau inférieur droit, on peut voir les corrections moyennes apportées à tous les filtres sur le même diagramme.

La figure ci-dessous montre la variation de la correction du point zéro en fonction de l'IQ. Elle trace l'écart entre la valeur calculée par MAG_AUTO et la magnitude mesurée avec une ouverture quatre fois plus grande que l'IQ, séparée par un filtre. Chaque filtre présente une légère pente, mais la différence entre IQ=0.5" et IQ=1" varie de 0.001 à 0.0045 magnitude, soit un peu moins que la dispersion usuelle de 0.005 magnitude. Le nouveau et l'ancien filtre I apparaissent sur le même tracé, ce qui explique la dispersion légèrement plus élevée. La distribution semble aussi légèrement bimodale: la tache inférieure correspond au nouveau filtre I. Encore une fois, il semble que MAG_AUTO soit une excellente valeur de remplacement pour l'ouverture appariée à l'IQ dans diverses conditions de visibilité.

Difference du point zéro entre MAG_AUTO et mag(4) en fonction du IQ

Ces corrections ont été apportées à chaque image et sont disponibles sous forme de fichier ASCII (DeepVarZPAP.gz).

Erreurs photométriques

IRAF calcule les incertitudes photométriques d'après le bruit de lecture du détecteur ainsi que le bruit poissonien du ciel et de l'objet. Cependant, on a constaté que la dispersion photométrique s'avérait considérablement plus importante que celle illustrée uniquement par le bruit de Poisson, surtout quand la luminosité est plus grande.

C'est ce qu'illustre la figure ci-dessous. Les points correspondent à la différence absolue entre la magnitude d'une image et le flux mesuré dans la pile. La ligne rouge indique l'erreur médiane en fonction de la magnitude; la verte, l'erreur médiane d'après la magnitude calculée par IRAF, c'est-à-dire en tenant compte des parasites de lecture et du bruit poissonien. Du côté où la luminosité est la plus vive, l'écart se chiffre à environ 0.01 magnitude pour cette image, mais il fluctue d'une image à l'autre.

Erreur en fonction de magnitude

La différence a son importance. On aimerait mesurer la plus petite variation de luminosité possible et il est malheureux qu'on ne puisse obtenir mieux que 1% avec la magnitude, même quand elle est élevée.

D'autres chercheurs n'ont pas réussi à obtenir mieux avec la photométrie des images de MegaCam. Bien que l'équipe de la SNLS ait enregistré une photométrie de qualité supérieure à 1% après avoir combiné plusieurs images, et que leur étalonnage du point zéro ait une précision supérieure à 1%, quand on compare les mesures prises individuellement sur les étoiles brillantes d'une image à l'autre, on remarque habituellement une dispersion de 2% (Fabbro, communication personnelle). Stetson (communication personnelle) estime qu'il faut ajouter une erreur de 1% à la quadrature des incertitudes de Poisson pour tenir compte de la dispersion.

Après avoir examiné soigneusement les erreurs possibles au niveau de la détermination du point zéro et les corrections à apporter à l'ouverture dont il est question plus haut, on en est parvenu à la conclusion que les erreurs pourraient survenir lorsqu'on procède à l'élimination des tendances avec Elixir. Les images présentant un écart supérieur à l'écart usuel entre l'erreur de Poisson et l'erreur mesurée ont été examinées à l'oeil nu. Ces images présentaient manifestement un problème soit au niveau de la bordure (dans la bande Z), soit au niveau du champ plat. Des exemples suivent.

Le problème que soulève cette image de la bande Z résulte d'une mauvaise soustraction des franges d'interferances.

Example de frange d'interferances

Cette image présente des variations évidentes du fond sous forme de bandes horizontales.

erreur de champ plat flagrant

Ici la difficulté est plus subtile, mais un examen attentif révèle des motifs en arrière-plan. Il s'agit d'une image de la bande G et il ne s'agit pas de franges d'interferances.

<enSubtle flat-fielding problem></en>erreur de champ plat subtil

On en conclut ceci: bien que les erreurs du champ plat soient trop faibles pour que l'oeil les perçoive dans la plupart des cas, elles existent néanmoins et expliquent la limite de 0.01 pour l'erreur au niveau de la magnitude.

L'erreur de magnitude indiquée dans les tableaux de distribution a été modifiée en conséquence. L'erreur reposant sur la médiane est mesurée à intervalles de 1 magnitude sur chaque image. Elle correspond à la ligne rouge sur la figure ci-dessus. Les erreurs indiquées dans les tableaux ont été interpolées linéairement à partir de ces valeurs. Les valeurs de IRAF ont été conservées quand la magnitude était inférieure à 22.

Complétude

Les étoiles ne sont pas toutes visibles sur chaque image. Les images ont été prises avec des décalages. Celles à la bordure du capteur pourraient donc se trouver totalement hors de ce dernier, sur une autre image, c'est-à-dire dans l'espace séparant les puces, ou à l'extérieur de la surface que représente l'image. Les étoiles moins luisantes pourraient ne pas être détectées sur une image prise dans des conditions où la visibilité était piètre, où la transparence laissait à désirer ou lorsque le ciel était trop clair.

La figure ci-dessous montre la fraction récupérée en fonction de la magnitude et du filtre. Par récupération, on entend un objet qui a été détecté et dont l'incertitude photométrique est inférieure à 0.1 magnitude. Soulignons qu'il est impossible de parvenir à une absolue complétude (100%) en raison des décalages.

Diffusion

La série temporelle est disponible sous la forme de deux archives tar (tarball) de 28108 fichiers, à raison d'un fichier par étoile. Les fichiers sont en langage ASCII ordinaire et comptent une rangée par image. L'image est omise quand on n'y détecte pas d'objet, soit parce qu'il n'y en avait pas dans le capteur, soit parce qu'il luisait trop faiblement. Par conséquent les fichiers n'ont pas tous la même taille. Il existe deux jeux de fichiers.

  • DeepVarTerse.tar.gz (625Mb): Ces fichiers ne renferment que ce qui suit:
    • Point milieu de l'exposition (MJD)
    • Magnitude
    • Incertitude pour cette magnitude
    • Chiffre correspondant au filtre:
      • 1: U
      • 2: G
      • 3: R
      • 4: I
      • 5: I2
      • 6: Z
    Voir la page des filtres MegaCam pour en obtenir une description, en particulier ce qui distingue les deux filtres de la bande I.
  • DeepVarFull.tar.gz (2.7Gb): Ces fichiers fournissent un peu plus de précisions. Chaque fichier comprend un en-tête donnant la magnitude UGRIZ de l'objet dans la pile ainsi que des liens menant aux parties découpées autour de chaque objet, dans les piles. Chaque entrée comprend des informations supplémentaires avec lesquelles on peut retracer la position d'un objet inhabituel sur une image donnée, puis remonter jusqu'aux photons d'origine.
    • Numéro de l'exposition MegaCam
    • Nombre de l'extension de où l'objet a été détecté
    • Coordonnées X et Y en pixels dans cette image
    • Qualité de l'image en secondes d'arc de l'image
    • Filtre sous forme de lettre (UGRIZ et I2)
    • Lien vers une des zones découpées autour de l'objet original