The MegaPipe image stacking pipeline

The MegaPipe image stacking pipeline Unified catalogs

Unified catalogs

This page provides links to the CFHTLS unified catalogues and documentation on how they were generated. The catalogues can be retrieved as large ASCII files below or can be queried on the Catalogue queries page.

Introduction

CFHTLS catalogues were produced by MegaPipe in 2008 (for the Deep fields) early 2009 (for the Wide). These catalogues were split by band and by pointing. They were produced by running SExtractor on the each image individually. Users who wanted to use the catalogues had to download and merge the individual catalogues themselves.

To increase the user-friendliness of the catalogues, the individual catalogues have now been merged. Each merged catalogue contains measurements in all 5 of the ugriz MegaCam filters and covers an entire survey (either the Wide or the Deep).

Separate catalogues were generated using each of the 5 bands as a reference/detection image. Thus there is an u-selected, g-selected, r-selected, i-selected and z-selected catalogue for each survey each suiting to different science goals. (i-selected for general galaxy population studies, z-selected if you are looking for i-band dropouts, etc.). Although the catalogues are selected in a single filter, measurements are made in all 5 filters for each catalogue, removing the need to consult multiple catalogues. There are thus a total of 5x2=10 separate catalogues, each complete in itself, but with different detection characteristics.

Catalogues

The following table provides a few statistics about the catalogues and links to the ASCII versions.

Survey Selection
Filter
Number
of rows
Area
(Deg2)
Masked Area
(Deg2)
Full catalogue Concise catalogue
DeepU 990 000 4.02704 3.64042 D.U.cat.gz (498Mb) D.U.con.cat.gz (140Mb)
DeepG 1 600 000 4.02704 3.64042 D.G.cat.gz (768Mb) D.G.con.cat.gz (217Mb)
DeepR 1 600 000 4.02704 3.64042 D.R.cat.gz (768Mb) D.R.con.cat.gz (217Mb)
DeepI 1 600 000 4.02704 3.64042 D.I.cat.gz (743Mb) D.I.con.cat.gz (210Mb)
DeepZ 1 100 000 4.02704 3.64042 D.Z.cat.gz (529Mb) D.Z.con.cat.gz (150Mb)
WideU19 000 000152.33481148.32196 W.U.cat.gz (8.6Gb) W.U.con.cat.gz (2.4Gb)
WideG32 000 000152.33481146.20048 W.G.cat.gz (15Gb) W.G.con.cat.gz (4.1Gb)
WideR28 000 000152.33481144.69447 W.R.cat.gz (13Gb) W.R.con.cat.gz (3.6Gb)
WideI28 000 000152.33481144.80211 W.I.cat.gz (13Gb) W.I.con.cat.gz (3.6Gb)
WideZ19 000 000152.33481145.18961 W.Z.cat.gz (8.8Gb) W.Z.con.cat.gz (2.5Gb)

Method

The basic procedure is:

  • Individual catalogue generation: SExtractor is run in double-image mode on the individual images.
  • Catalogue masking: Areas where photometric measurements and detections may be compromised are masked.
  • Catalogue merging: The masked catalogues for each pointing are combined and redundant sources (ones which appear in more than one individual catalogues) are removed.

A number of other methods were considered:

Instead of generating catalogues pointing-by-pointing and then merging the catalogues one could SWarp together all the images for each Wide field into a single enormous image and run SExtractor on that image. This has advantage of eliminating the catalogue merging step, which involves a fair amount of book-keeping. The disadvantage is that these images are unwieldy. They would measure up to 140 000 pixels across and be 100 Gb in size. While it may be possible (although difficult) to run SExtractor on such images, one cannot distribute such images over the web. Users would be present with catalogues for which they cannot view the source image.

Instead generating separate catalogue for each filter, one could build some sort of master image containing flux from each band, for example a chi-squared image. One could then use SExtractor in double-image mode with the master image as a detection image. This has the advantage of simplicity: it produces a single catalogue. However, the 5 bands are not even in depth. The z-band in particular is much noisier than the other 4. While adding the bands together produces a deeper image in theory (you now have photons from all wavelengths) in practice it is also noisier. Leaving out the noisier bands (uz) means that you no longer have a catalogue suitable for all purposes.

Instead of publishing a separate catalogue for each filter, one could merge the 5 catalogues into one. One could cross-identify sources common to different catalogues and merge their entries into a single entry. This again has the advantage of producing a single catalogue rather than several, and (if done correctly) eliminates the disadvantages of the previous master-image method. The trick, of course, is accurately and reliably cross-identifying the sources between filters. For bright, well separated sources this is easy. The MegaPipe images are registered to very high accuracy, making cross-identification by position fairly accurate. However the image quality and depth varies between different filters; objects that appear as single source in one filter may appear as two sources in another filter. Even if the cross-identification can be done correctly, the bookkeeping is non-trivial. That being said, it has work successfully for the SDSS and this option may be explored in the future.

In short, the easiest way to make a clean catalogue is to:

  • merge the different pointings at the catalogue level rather than at the image level
  • not to merge the catalogues for different filters but to generate multiple catalogues, one per filter.

In the age of SDSS, to makes less and less sense to have simple ASCII files (although these have their place). Therefore a database has been set up containing the catalogues. A query page has been set up to allow users to query the database in a flexible manner, either using canned queries or writing their own SQL.

A note on terminology: surveys, fields and pointings. The CFHTLS contains two surveys (the Deep and the Wide). Each survey has 4 fields (D1, W3 etc.) Each field contains one (for the Deep fields) or more (for the Wide fields) pointings (W1+0+0, W4-1-1 etc.)

Individual catalogue generation

The base point of the unified catalogues are the CFHTLS image stacks. In brief, the individual MegaCam input images are processed through MegaPipe. Accurate astrometric and photometric calibrations are applied to the images. The images are then shifted (according to the astrometric calibration) and scaled (according to photometric calibration) and stacked using SWarp. The images are grouped by pointing. The output images cover roughly one square degree.

SExtractor was run on the 5 images from each pointing using "double-image mode". In this mode, the detection of objects are done in one image (the reference image) and photometric (and other) measurements are done in the other (the measurement image). All possible image combinations were run for a total of 25 catalogues per pointing (5 possible reference images times 5 possible measurement images). These catalogues constitute the individual catalogues. Here is the SExtractor configuration file.

Catalogue masking

The catalogues were masked to identify areas where the detection and photometric measurements of sources may compromised. These areas include areas around brighter stars, diffraction and bleed spikes from the brightest stars and satellite/meteor trails. Also, in some cases the dither pattern of the input images was insufficient to provide uniform depth across the pointing. An automatic detection method was used to find the bright stars and the diffraction/bleed spikes. This was supplemented with laborious hand masking. The images below show examples of what was masked.

An example of bright star masking. Here the position of the bright star is taken from the the Guide Star Catalog. (SExtractor usually fails to correctly determine the centre of bright stars.) The pupil image is offset from position of the star towards the centre of the image by 0.022 times the distance between the star and the centre of the image.

Example of masked bright star

An example of diffraction spike masking. The masking program masks the diffraction spikes out to a minimum distance (200 pixels) and then looks for extended bleed spikes (always in the y-direction). If they are detected it extends the mask until the end of the bleed trail.

Example of masked bleed spike

An example of meteor trail masking. A meteor trail appears in a single input image. Where a large enough number input images are available, the trail disappears when the images are combined (using the median process) leaving at most some residual noise. However at the CCD boundaries of the MegaCam mosaic and over the bad columns of the input images, there may be less than the full number of images and the trail must be masked.

Example of masked meteor trail

The masks are in format of ds9 region files. They are given in terms of RA and Dec in J2000.0 coordinates. Each line starts with the word "polygon" followed by of a list of vertexes. The masks for each survey can be downloaded as a tarball using the following links:

Catalogue merging

The final step is to merge the catalogues. For the Deep fields, which do not overlap, the catalogues for the individual fields are simply concatenated. The pointings of the Wide fields however, overlap slightly. Simply concatenating the individual catalogues would lead to some sources being double-counted.

There are a few methods that can used to avoid double-counting. One is to divide the Wide fields with a grid corresponding the boundaries between pointings. Sources detected inside the boundary of a pointing are added to the catalogue. Source outside boundary are ignored since the will presumably be detected in the adjacent pointing. The problem with this method is that if there is any uncertainty in the position of objects near a boundary it may double counted (position errors may shift it over the boundary into both adjacent pointings) or be missed entirely (position errors may shift it out of both pointings).

The other extreme is to include all objects from all the catalogues and then run a filter to determine which objects have been duplicated. Source which come from different catalogues but lie within some small radius of each other are probably the same source; one then eliminates the redundant source. The problem with this method is that the chance of two real different sources lying near each other may be non-negligible as shown in the figure below.

Probability of a source having a neighbour with a given radius. F1(θ) is the fraction of sources that have at least one neighbouring source within θ arcseconds. At large angles, the chance of having a neighbouring source approaches unity. The solid lines show the results as measured from the Deep and Wide survey respectively. The measured fraction drops sharply as θ drops below 1 arcsecond. This is because sources in close proximity are increasingly unlikely to be properly deblended. The dashed lines show the theoretical nearest neighbour fractions, assuming sources are distributed completely randomly (ignoring any galaxy clustering). Sources in the Deep fields are more likely to have a neighbour simply because the Deep fields, extending to fainter magnitudes, have a higher source density. For the wide fields, the chance of have a neighbour purely at random within 0.5'' is about 1%. The overlap zones between the wide pointings are typically a few arcminutes wide; having 1% of the sources in these non-negligible zones be missed is not acceptable.

Probability of a source having a neighbour with a given radius

Therefore, a hybrid method was adopted. The Wide fields are divided into grids as above but the boundaries were expanded by θoverlap arcseconds for each pointing so that they now overlap but only slightly . The overlap zone is now only 2θoverlap arcseconds wide. Setting θoverlap=10'' is large enough to accommodate the positional uncertainty of even fairly large, fuzzy objects, but small enough that missing 1% of the objects in these zones is acceptable. Source in each pointing catalogue outside the boundaries are trimmed. The trimmed catalogues are combined. Objects from different pointing catalogues lying with θmatch=0.5'' of each other are deemed to be the same object; the second entry is removed.

There are two parameters in this method: θoverlap and θmatch. Changing either parameter significantly (doubling or halving it) had only a very small effect on the final merged catalogues: the total number of sources would change by a few hundred in a catalogue of 30 million sources.

Boundaries were also applied at the edges of the fields. The boundaries lie at the point where the effective exposure time of the images (as indicated by weight map) drops to half of the nominal value. These boundaries apply the pointings at the edges of the Wide fields and to the Deep fields. Here is a list of the pointing boundaries.

Système de traitement d'images MegaPipe

Système de traitement d'images MegaPipe Catalogues Unifiés CFHTLS

Catalogues Unifiés CFHTLS

Cette page regroupe les liens menant aux catalogues consolidés de la CFHTLS et à la documentation expliquant comment ils ont été réalisés. Vous pouvez récupérer ces catalogues sous forme de fichiers ASCII massifs ou les consulter le page Recherche des catalogues.

Introduction

Les catalogues de la CFHTLS ont été réalisés avec MegaPipe en 2008 (Champs Profonds) et au début de 2009 (Champs Larges). Ils ont été divisés par bande et pointage. Pour les produire, on a appliqué SExtractor à chaque image. Ceux qui souhaitaient se servir des catalogues devaient télécharger chacun d'eux puis les fusionner eux-mêmes.

Pour une plus grande convivialité, ces catalogues ont désormais été fusionnés. Chacun comprend donc les mesures prises avec les cinq filtres ugriz de MegaCam et englobe une étude complète (Champs Larges ou Champ profonds).

Des catalogues distincts ont été produits à partir de chacune des cinq bandes, servant d'image de référence ou de détection. Par conséquent, chaque étude comprend un catalogue pour chaque filtre u, g, r, i et z sélectionné, l'objectif scientifique de chacun étant différent. (Filtre i pour les études générales sur la population de la galaxie; filtre z pour la recherche de dropouts Lyman dans la bande i, etc.). Bien que les catalogues soient sélectionnés en fonction d'un filtre, les mesures ont été prises avec les cinq filtres pour chacun, de sorte qu'il est inutile d'en consulter plusieurs. En tout, on dénombre donc 5x2=10 catalogues distincts, chacun complet en soi, mais aux caractéristiques de détection différentes.

Catalogues

Le tableau que voici fournit quelques statistiques sur les catalogues, ainsi qu'un lien vers leur version ASCII.

Sondage Filtre de sélection Nombre de lignes Superficie
(Deg2)
Superficie masquée
(Deg2)
Catalogue complet Catalogue concise
DeepU 990 000 4.02704 3.64042 D.U.cat.gz (498Mb) D.U.con.cat.gz (140Mb)
DeepG 1 600 000 4.02704 3.64042 D.G.cat.gz (768Mb) D.G.con.cat.gz (217Mb)
DeepR 1 600 000 4.02704 3.64042 D.R.cat.gz (768Mb) D.R.con.cat.gz (217Mb)
DeepI 1 600 000 4.02704 3.64042 D.I.cat.gz (743Mb) D.I.con.cat.gz (210Mb)
DeepZ 1 100 000 4.02704 3.64042 D.Z.cat.gz (529Mb) D.Z.con.cat.gz (150Mb)
WideU19 000 000152.33481148.32196 W.U.cat.gz (8.6Gb) W.U.con.cat.gz (2.4Gb)
WideG32 000 000152.33481146.20048 W.G.cat.gz (15Gb) W.G.con.cat.gz (4.1Gb)
WideR28 000 000152.33481144.69447 W.R.cat.gz (13Gb) W.R.con.cat.gz (3.6Gb)
WideI28 000 000152.33481144.80211 W.I.cat.gz (13Gb) W.I.con.cat.gz (3.6Gb)
WideZ19 000 000152.33481145.18961 W.Z.cat.gz (8.8Gb) W.Z.con.cat.gz (2.5Gb)

Méthode

La procédure de base est la suivante:

  • Genèse des catalogues: application de SExtractor en mode double image à chaque image.
  • Masquage des catalogues: masquage des régions où les mesures et les détections astrométriques pourraient être douteuses.
  • Fusion: les catalogues de chaque pointage sont amalgamés après masquage et les sources redondantes (qui apparaissent dans plus d'un catalogue) sont supprimées.

Plusieurs autres méthodes ont été envisagées.

Au lieu de produire des catalogues par pointage, puis de les amalgamer, on pourrait appliquer SWarp aux images de chaque champ large pour en tirer une énorme image, puis appliquer SExtractor à cette dernière. Cette méthode aurait pour avantage d'éliminer l'étape "fusion", qui suppose passablement d'écritures. L'inconvénient est que les images de cette taille sont peu maniables. Elles mesureraient jusqu'à 140000 pixels de largeur et auraient un poids de 100Gb. Même si on pouvait (bien que difficilement) appliquer SExtractor à l'image, celle-ci ne pourrait être diffusée sur Internet. L'utilisateur disposerait donc de catalogues ayant pour source une image qu'il ne peut consulter.

Au lieu de créer un catalogue pour chaque filtre, on pourrait bâtir une sorte d'image principale comprenant les flux de chaque bande, par exemple, une image chi carré. On pourrait ensuite appliquer SExtractor en mode double image à l'image principale, qui servirait d'image de détection. La simplicité est l'avantage de cette méthode: elle n'engendre qu'un catalogue. Toutefois, la profondeur est inégale dans les cinq bandes. Ainsi. beaucoup plus de bruit parasite la bande z que les quatre autres. Bien que l'addition des bandes puisse, en théorie, donner une image d'une plus grande profondeur (il y aurait des photons dans toutes les longueurs d'onde), dans la réalité, l'image est plus polluée. Laisser de côté les bandes où le bruit est plus abondant (uz), en revanche, donnerait un catalogue qui ne conviendrait pas à certaines fins.

Au lieu de publier un catalogue par filtre, on pourrait fondre les cinq catalogues en un seul. Les sources communes aux divers catalogues pourraient être identifiées de façon croisée, puis les entrées seraient amalgamées. Encore une fois, l'avantage de cette méthode est la genèse d'un unique catalogue, au lieu de plusieurs. En procédant correctement, on éliminerait les inconvénients de la méthode de l'image principale qui précède. L'astuce, bien sûr, réside dans une identification croisée précise et fiable des sources d'un filtre à l'autre. La chose est aisée pour les sources très lumineuses et bien séparées. Les images MegaPipe sont enregistrées à une très haute précision, ce qui rend l'identification croisée par position passablement précise. Cependant, la qualité et la profondeur de l'image varient avec le filtre; les objets qui correspondent à des sources uniques sur un filtre pouvant correspondre à deux sources sur un autre. Même si l'identification croisée est bien effectuée, le travail d'écriture n'est pas négligeable. Cela dit, cette méthode a donné de bons résultats avec la SDSS, aussi pourrait-on envisager cette solution dans l'avenir.

En résumé, la manière la plus facile d'obtenir un catalogue épuré est la suivante:

  • fusionner les pointages au niveau du catalogue plutôt que de l'image;
  • ne pas amalgamer les catalogues des différents filtres, mais produire un catalogue par filtre.

À l'ère de la SDSS, il est de moins en moins sensé de garder de simples fichiers ASCII (même s'ils ont leur utilité). C'est pourquoi on a créé une base de données renfermant les catalogues. Une page recherche permet à l'utilisateur de la compulser avec aisance, au lieu d'avoir à procéder à des interrogations en série ou à rédiger son propre script SQL.

Remarque sur la terminologie: études, champs et pointages. La CFHTLS regroupe deux études (le champ profond - Deep - et le champ large - Wide). Chaque étude englobe quatre champs (D1, W3 etc.) et chaque champ inclut un pointage (champ profond) ou plusieurs (champ large) (W1+0+0, W4-1-1, etc.)

Genèse des catalogues individuelles

Les images empilées de la CFHTLS forment la base des catalogues consolidés. En résumé, chaque image MegaCam saisie est traitée avec MegaPipe. Les images font l'objet d'un étalonnage astrométrique et photométrique précis. Elles sont alors décalées (en fonction de l'étalonnage astrométrique) et mises à l'échelle (selon l'étalonnage photométrique), puis empilées avec SWarp. Cela fait, elles sont regroupées par pointage. Les images finales couvrent approximativement un degré carré.

SExtractor a été appliqué aux cinq images de chaque pointage en mode "double image", ce qui permet de détecter les objets dans une image (l'image de référence) et de procéder aux mesures photométriques dans l'autre (l'image de mesure).Ce traitement est appliqué à toutes les combinaisons possibles d'images, si bien que 25 catalogues sont produits par pointage (5 images de référence possibles multiplié par 5 images de mesure possibles). Ces catalogues correspondent aux catalogues individuels. Voici le fichier de configuration de SExtractor.

Masquage des catalogues

Les catalogues ont été masqués pour permettre l'identification des zones où la détection des sources et les mesures photométrique qui s'y rapportent pourraient être compromises. Ces zones comprennent les régions autour des étoiles plus brillantes, les pics de diffraction et de saignement attribuables aux astres les plus lumineux et les traînées des satellites et des météores. Dans certains cas, le schéma de vibration des images saisies ne suffit pas pour obtenir une profondeur uniforme à la grandeur du pointage. Une méthode de détection automatique permet de repérer les étoiles lumineuses ainsi que les pics de diffraction/saignement. À cela s'ajoute un laborieux masquage manuel. Les images ci-dessous illustrent ce qui a été masqué.

Masquage d'une étoile brillante. La position de l'étoile est extraite du Guide Star Catalogue. (Habituellement SExtractor ne peut établir correctement le centre des étoiles très lumineuses.) L'image de la pupille est décalée d'une distance égale à 0,022 fois la distance séparant l'étoile du centre de l'image, vers le centre de l'image par rapport à la position de l'étoile.

Example d'un étoile brillante masquée

Masquage d'un pic de diffraction. Le programme masque les pics de diffraction sur une distance minimale (200 pixels), puis cherche les pics de saignement plus larges (toujours dans l'axe des y). S'il en détecte, le masque est agrandi jusqu'à l'extrémité du saignement.

Example de masquage d'un pic de diffraction

Masquage de la traînée d'un météore. La trace du météore apparaît sur une seule image saisie. Quand on dispose d'un nombre suffisant d'images saisies, la traînée disparaît au moment de leur combinaison (par application de la valeur médiane), si bien qu'il ne reste qu'un léger bruit résiduel. Cependant, il se peut que le nombre d'images complètes soit insuffisant aux limites du capteur, sur la mosaïque MegaCam, et sur les colonnes défectueuses des images saisies. C'est pourquoi la traînée doit être masquée.

Example de masquage de la traînée d'un météore

Les masques ont la forme de fichiers de la région ds9. Ils sont exprimés en RA et Dec selon le système de coordonnées J2000.0. Chaque ligne débute par le mot "polygon" que suit une liste de vertex. On peut télécharger les masques de chaque étude sous forme de fichier d'archivage (tarball) au moyen des liens que voici:

Fusion des catalogues

La dernière étape consiste à fusionner les catalogues. Pour les champs profonds, qui ne se chevauchent pas, on enchaîne simplement les catalogues. Puisque les pointages dans le champ large se chevauchent légèrement, une simple concaténation entraînerait le double comptage de certaines sources.

Quelques méthodes permettent d'éviter cela. Une d'elles consiste à fractionner le champ large avec une grille correspondant aux limites entre les pointages. Les sources détectées à l'intérieur de ces limites sont ajoutées au catalogue; en revanche, on ignore celles situées à l'extérieur en présumant qu'elles seront détectées dans le pointage adjacent. Le hic avec cette méthode est que, s'il existe la moindre incertitude concernant la position des objets situés en bordure d'une limite, ces derniers pourraient être comptés deux fois (une erreur de position pourrait décaler l'objet, lui faisant franchir la limite des deux pointages adjacents) ou être omis complètement (s'ils sont décalés hors des deux pointages consécutivement à l'erreur de position).

L'autre extrême consisterait à regrouper tous les objets de tous les catalogues, puis d'appliquer un filtre afin d'identifier ceux qui ont été doublés. Des sources venant de catalogues différents, mais se trouvant à un court rayon l'une de l'autre seront probablement la même; il suffit alors de supprimer la source redondante. La difficulté avec cette méthode est qu'il existe une probabilité, non négligeable, que deux sources différentes se trouvent vraiment près l'une de l'autre, comme l'illustre la figure ci-dessous.

Probabilité qu'une source ait une voisine dans un rayon donné. F1(θ) correspond à la proportion de sources comptant au moins une source voisine à moins de θ secondes d'arc. Quand l'angle est large, le risque d'avoir une source voisine approche l'unité. Les lignes continues indiquent les résultats respectivement obtenus avec les champs profonds et larges. La proportion mesurée diminue fortement quand θ est inférieur à 1 seconde d'arc. On le doit au fait qu'il devient de plus en plus improbable que les sources proches l'une de l'autre soient correctement séparées. Les lignes hachées montrent la proportion théorique de sources voisines les plus proches, en supposant que les sources sont entièrement réparties au hasard (bref, sans tenir compte du regroupement des galaxies). Les sources dans les champs profonds sont plus susceptibles d'avoir une source voisine, tout simplement parce que les champs profonds englobent les magnitudes plus faibles, ce qui rend les sources plus denses. Dans un champ large, le risque qu'une source voisine se trouve par hasard à moins de 0.5'' est d'environ 1%. Les zones qui se chevauchent entre les pointages larges n'ont habituellement que quelques minutes d'arc de largeur; l'hypothèse qu'on omette 1% de ces sources dans une surface aussi infime doit être rejetée.

Probabilité d'une source ayant un source en dedans d'une rayon donnée

Pour ces raisons, on a retenu une méthode hybride. Les champs larges ont été divisés en grilles tel qu'indiqué plus haut, mais les limites de ces dernières ont été élargies de θoverlap secondes d'arc pour chaque pointage afin qu'elles se chevauchent légèrement. La zone de chevauchement ne mesure maintenant que 2θoverlap secondes d'arc de largeur. La valeur θoverlap=10'' est assez élevée pour satisfaire l'incertitude associée à la position, y compris pour des objets flous d'assez grande taille, mais elle trop faible pour que le risque d'omettre 1% des objets dans cette zone soit acceptable. On élague les sources situées à l'extérieur des limites dans chaque catalogue de pointage. Les catalogues sont combinés après cet élagage. Les objets de catalogues de pointage différents qui se situent à θmatch =0.5'' l'un de l'autre sont réputés être identiques et la deuxième entrée est retranchée.

Cette méthode intègre deux paramètres: θoverlap et θmatch. Changer sensiblement l'un ou l'autre (en les doublant ou en les divisant par deux) n'a eu qu'un effet minime sur les catalogues consolidés: le nombre de sources changerait de quelques centaines, sur un total de 30 millions pour le catalogue.

Des limites ont aussi été appliquées aux bordures des champs. Ces limites se situent au point où la durée d'exposition efficace des images (indiquée par la carte des poids) tombe à la moitié de sa valeur nominale. Ces limites s'appliquent aux pointages à la bordure des champs larges et des champs profonds. Voici la liste des limites appliquées aux pointages.