The MegaPipe image stacking pipeline

The MegaPipe image stacking pipeline The MegaCam ugriz filter set

The MegaCam ugriz filter set

This page describes the MegaCam ugriz filters and contrasts them with the SDSS ugriz filters.

Obviously, most of the information presented in this page is available elsewhere. However, although it is possible to find the MegaCam filter transmission function without the telescope (mirrors, optics, detector) response function, it is hard to find files describing the filter set after multiplication by the system response (which is necessary for a number of things, notably photometric redshifts), so they are presented here.

The figure below shows the MegaCam ugriz filter set. The light-coloured lines show the filters' responses as described in the CFHT filter pages. The labeled black lines show the response of the primary mirror, the optics and the QE of the CCD's as obtained from the CFHT website.

MegaCam filter set

The filter responses are multiplied by the telescope (mirror+optics+CCD) response to obtain total transmissions for the whole system. These total transmissions are shown as the heavy coloured lines The labels i1 and i2 refer to the old (before June 2007) and new (after October 2007) i filters. The final response curves are given in text format here:

Comparing the MegaCam and SDSS filter sets

The figure below shows the final MegaCam filter transmission functions. The same data for the SDSS ugriz filter set are shown in heavier lines. Note the MegaCam u and g filters are slightly redder than their SDSS counterparts.

MegaCam vs SDSS

The transformation between the Vega and AB magnitude system is different for the SDSS and MegaCam filters, particularly for the u. This is shown in the following table:

u -0.966-0.338
g +0.099+0.093
r -0.163-0.164
i (old)-0.387-0.389
i (new)-0.387-0.376
z -0.560-0.551

These numbers are computed for zero airmass.

The colour terms between the two filter sets can be described by the following equations:

u_Mega = u_SDSS - 0.241 (u_SDSS - g_SDSS)
g_Mega = g_SDSS - 0.153 (g_SDSS - r_SDSS)
r_Mega = r_SDSS - 0.024 (g_SDSS - r_SDSS)
i_Mega = i_SDSS - 0.085 (r_SDSS - i_SDSS) (old)
i_Mega = i_SDSS - 0.003 (r_SDSS - i_SDSS) (new)
z_Mega = z_SDSS + 0.074 (i_SDSS - z_SDSS)

The relations for the griz bands (including the old i-filter) come from the analysis of the SNLS group. The relation for the u band comes from the CFHT MegaPipe web pages. The relation for the new i filter was calculated separately.

The reverse transformations (MegaCam to SDSS) have also been calculated.

u_SDSS=u_Mega +0.181 (u_Mega - g_Mega)
g_SDSS=g_Mega +0.195 (g_Mega - r_Mega)
g_SDSS=g_Mega +0.103 (g_Mega - i_Mega)
r_SDSS=r_Mega +0.011 (g_Mega - r_Mega)
i_SDSS=i_Mega +0.079 (r_Mega - i_Mega) (old)
i_SDSS=i_Mega +0.044 (g_Mega - i_Mega) (old)
i_SDSS=i_Mega +0.001 (r_Mega - i_Mega) (new) 
i_SDSS=i_Mega -0.003 (g_Mega - i_Mega) (new)
z_SDSS=z_Mega -0.099 (i_Mega - z_Mega)

Système de traitement d'images MegaPipe

Système de traitement d'images MegaPipe Le systéme de filtres MegaCam

Le systéme de filtres MegaCam

Cette page décrit les filtres de ugriz MegaCam et les compare avec les filtres de ugriz SDSS.

Évidement la plupart des informations présentées dans cette page est disponible ailleurs. Cependant, bien qu'il soit possible de trouver la fonction de transmission du filtre de MegaCam sans le télescope (miroirs, optique, détecteur) fonction de réponse, il est difficile de trouver des fichiers décrivant les filtre aprés multiplication par la transmission du système (ce qui est nécessaire pour un certain nombre de choses, notamment les redshifts photométriques), elles sont présentées ici.

La figure ci-dessous montre la jeu de filtres ugriz pour MegaCam . Les lignes colorées claires montrent les réponses des filtres comme décrit dans les pages de filtre de CFHT. Les lignes noires marquées indiquent la transmission du miroir primaire, de l'optique et du rendement quantique CCD obtenue à partir du site-web du TCFH.

Jeu de filtres MegaCam

Le transmission des filtres sont multipliés par celles du télescope ( miroir + optiques + CCD ) d'obtenir des transmissions totales pour l'ensemble du système . Ces transmissions totales sont présentés comme les lignes colorées lourds La étiquettes i1 et i2 se réfèrent à l'ancien (avant Juin 2007) et les nouveaux (après Octobre 2007) filtre i. Les courbes de réponse finaux sont données au format texte ici:

Comparaison des jeu de filtre MegaCam et SDSS

La figure ci-dessous montre les fonctions de transmission de filtre de MegaCam finales. Les mêmes données pour le jeu de filtre ugriz SDSS sont représentés en traits plus lourds. Notez que les filtre u et g de MegaCam sont légèrement plus rouge que leur homologues SDSS.

MegaCam vs SDSS

La transformation entre le système de magnitude Vega et AB est différente pour les filtres SDSS et MegaCam, en particulier pour le u. Ceci est illustré dans le tableau suivant:

FiltreSDSS-AB
SDSS
Vega-AB
MegaCam
u -0.966-0.338
g +0.099+0.093
r -0.163-0.164
i (vieux) -0.387-0.389
i (nouveau)-0.387-0.376
z -0.560-0.551

Ces chiffres sont calculés pour la masse d'air zéro.

Les termes de couleur entre les deux jeux de filtres peut être décrit par les équations suivantes:

u_Mega = u_SDSS - 0,241 ( u_SDSS - g_SDSS )
g_Mega = g_SDSS - 0,153 ( g_SDSS - r_SDSS )
r_Mega = r_SDSS - 0,024 ( g_SDSS - r_SDSS )
i_Mega = i_SDSS - 0,085 ( r_SDSS - i_SDSS ) (ancien)
i_Mega = i_SDSS - 0,003 ( r_SDSS - i_SDSS ) (nouveau)
z_Mega = z_SDSS + 0,074 ( i_SDSS - z_SDSS )
  

Les relations pour les bandes griz (y compris l'ancien filtre i) proviennent de l'analyse de la groupe SNLS. La relations pour la bande u vient des pages web MegaPipe TCFH. La relation de la nouvelle filtre i a été calculé separement.

Les transformations inverses (MegaCam à SDSS) ont également été calculé:

u_SDSS=u_Mega +0.181 (u_Mega - g_Mega)
g_SDSS=g_Mega +0.195 (g_Mega - r_Mega)
g_SDSS=g_Mega +0.103 (g_Mega - i_Mega)
r_SDSS=r_Mega +0.011 (g_Mega - r_Mega)
i_SDSS=i_Mega +0.079 (r_Mega - i_Mega) (ancien)
i_SDSS=i_Mega +0.044 (g_Mega - i_Mega) (ancien)
i_SDSS=i_Mega +0.001 (r_Mega - i_Mega) (nouveau) 
i_SDSS=i_Mega -0.003 (g_Mega - i_Mega) (nouveau)
z_SDSS=z_Mega -0.099 (i_Mega - z_Mega)