The WIRwolf image stacking pipeline

The WIRwolf image stacking pipeline JHK WIRCam filters

JHK WIRCam filters

This page describes the WIRCam JHK filters and contrasts them with the 2MASS JHK filters. Colour terms with respect to 2MASS are derived.

The WIRCam filter set

The figure below shows the WIRCam YJHK filter set. The light-coloured black lines show the filters' responses as obtained from the CFHT WIRCam filter page. The darker black lines show the final response after factoring in all of the following:

  • The green line shows the reflectivity of the primary mirror.
  • The blue line shows the transmission of the WIRCam optics.
  • The red line shows the nominal QE of the HgCdTe HAWAII-2RG detectors. The curve is derived from Figure 1 of Finger et al. The response varies somewhat from detector to detector and with temperature. However, the response is (fairly) flat function of wavelength, so the effect on the shape of the final filter responses is small.
  • The cyan line shows the transmission of the atmosphere. The curve was obtain from Gemini website; this curve shows the transmission for an water vapor column of 1.6 mm and an airmass of 1.5. The atmospheric transmission varies with changing airmass and water column. However it only substantially affects the red edge of the K filter. Since WIRCam uses a short K filter, the transmissions can be safely be neglected for most purposes.
WIRCam filter set

The final response curves taking to account all of the above factors are given in text format here:

The WIRCam filters compared to the 2MASS filters

The figure below shows the WIRCam and 2MASS JHK filters. The transmission curves for the 2MASS filters were retrieved from 2MASS photometry documentation here. The filters are not identical. The WIRCam J filter is slightly redder than the 2MASS J, while the WIRCam H and Ks filters are slightly bluer.

WIRCam and 2MASS filter sets

The differences between AB and Vega magnitudes for both filter sets is given in the following table:

FilterVega-AB
2MASS
Vega-AB
WIRCam
J-0.932-0.958
H-1.418-1.399
Ks-1.885-1.879

Small colour terms exist between the two filter sets. These colour terms were measured two ways:

  • First, the filter responses described above were multiplied by the spectra of the Pickles stars. The resulting synthetic JHK photometry was used to measure colour terms. The main liability of this method is that, if either the spectra or the filter curves are not realistic, the derived colour terms will be erroneous.
  • Second, colour terms were measured for several thousand WIRCam images by comparing the instrumental WIRCam magnitudes to the 2MASS photometry. Note that even if the photometric zero-point is unknown, the colour term can still be measured. The disadvantage of this method is that the WIRCam images are much deeper than the 2MASS images. Only the faintest 2MASS stars are not saturated. Therefore their colours tend to be noisier than desirable, producing large uncertainties in the measured colour terms

The results are shown below. The top panels show the results from synthetic photometry. The colour term equations shown are derived from linear fits to the synthetic photometry. The histograms on the lower panels show the distribution measured colour terms. The colour term equations shown represent the modal values of the colour term histograms.

WIRCam/2MASS colour terms

The results are in close agreement, indicating that the filter responses are fairly realistic and that the measured colours, while noisy, have no systematic problems. The largest discrepancy is for the K band. Fortunately, the dispersion in stellar colours in H-K is fairly small (0.5 mags) so that a 0.009 shift in colour term only translates to a 0.0045 magnitude zero-point offset.

The observed colour terms were adopted:

J_WIRcam = J_2MASS - 0.064 * (J-H)_2MASS
H_WIRcam = H_2MASS + 0.031 * (J-H)_2MASS
K_WIRcam = K_2MASS + 0.058 * (H-K)_2MASS

Système de traitement d'images WIRwolf

Système de traitement d'images WIRwolf Filtres WIRCam JHK

Filtres WIRCam JHK

Cette page décrit les filtres JHK de WIRCam et les compare avec les filtres JHK de 2MASS. Les termes de couleur par rapport à 2MASS sont dérivées.

Le systéme de filtres de WIRCam

La figure ci-dessous montre le jeu de filtres WIRCam YJHK. Les lignes noires claires montrent les réponses des filtres obtenue de page des filtres TCFH WIRCam. Les lignes noires plus foncées montrent la réponse finale après prise en compte des éléments suivants:

  • La ligne verte représente la réflectivité de la miroir primaire.
  • La ligne bleue représente la transmission des optiques de WIRCam.
  • La ligne rouge indique le QE nominale des détecteurs HgCdTe HAWAII-2RG. La courbe est dérivée de la figure 1 de Finger et al. La réponse varie quelque peu d'détecteur de détecteur et de la température. Cependant, la réponse est (assez) appartement de fonction de la longueur d'onde, donc l'effet sur la forme des réponses finales du filtre est faible.
  • La ligne de cyan représente la transmission de l'atmosphère. La courbe était d'obtenir à partir du site Gemini, cette courbe montre la transmission pour une colonne de vapeur d'eau de 1.6 mm et d'une masse d'air de 1.5. La transmission atmosphérique varie en fonction de la masse d'air et de la colonne d'eau. Cependant, il ne concerne que le bord sensiblement rouge du filtre de K. Depuis WIRCam utilise un filtre K court, les transmissions peuvent être en toute sécurité être négligées pour la plupart des usages.
systéme de filtres WIRCam

Les courbes de réponse finaux prenant en compte de tous les facteurs ci-dessus sont donnés en format texte ici:

Les filtres de WIRCam comparés aux filtres 2MASS

La figure ci-dessous montre les filtres WIRCam et 2MASS JHK. Les courbes de transmission des filtres 2MASS ont été récupérés à partir de la documentation du photometrie 2MASS. Les filtres ne sont pas identiques. Le filtre WIRCam J est légèrement plus rouge que le 2MASS J, tandis que les filtres WIRCam H et Ks sont légèrement plus bleu.

systéme de filtres WIRCam et 2MASS

Les différences entre les magnitudes AB et Vega pour les deux systéme de filtres est donné dans le table suivant:

FiltreVega-AB
2MASS
Vega-AB
WIRCam
J-0.932-0.958
H-1.418-1.399
Ks-1.885-1.879

Des petites termes de couleurs existent entre les deux systéme de filtres. Ces termes de couleurs ont été mesurés de deux façons:

  • Tout d'abord, les réponses des filtres décrits ci-dessus ont été multipliés par les spectres des étoiles Pickles. La photométrie synthétique JHK résultant a été utilisé pour mesurer les termes de couleurs. La lacune principale de cette méthode est que, si l'un des spectres ou les courbes des filtres ne sont pas réalistes, les termes de couleurs dérivées seront erronées.
  • Deuxièmement, les termes de couleurs ont été mesurées pour plusieurs milliers d'images WIRCam en comparant les magnitudes de WIRCam instrumentales à la photométrie 2MASS. Notez que même si le point zéro photométrique est inconnue, la terme de couleur peut toujours être mesuré. L'inconvénient de cette méthode est que les images WIRCam sont beaucoup plus profonde que les images 2MASS. Seuls les plus faibles étoiles 2MASS ne sont pas saturés. Par conséquent leurs couleurs ont tendance à être plus bruyant que souhaitable, produisant de grandes incertitudes dans les termes de couleur mesurées.

Les résultats sont présentés ci-dessous. Les panneaux supérieurs montrent les résultats de la photométrie synthétique. Les équations terme de couleur affichés proviennent des régression linéaire à la photométrie synthétique. Les histogrammes sur les panneaux inférieurs montrent la répartition mesurée des termes de couleurs. Les équations terme de couleur indiqués représentent la mode des valeurs des histogrammes terme de couleur .

termes de couleurs WIRCam/2MASS

Les résultats sont en accord étroit, ce qui indique que les réponses des filtres sont assez réalistes et que les couleurs mesurées, tandis que bruyant, n'ont pas de problèmes systématiques. La plus grande différence est pour la bande K. Heureusement, la dispersion dans couleurs stellaires en H-K est relativement faible (0.5 mags) de sorte qu'un changement 0.009 en terme de couleur ne se traduit que pour un 0.0045 grandeur de décalage du point zéro.

Les termes de couleurs observées ont été adoptées:

J_WIRcam = J_2MASS - 0.064 * (J-H)_2MASS
H_WIRcam = H_2MASS + 0.031 * (J-H)_2MASS
K_WIRcam = K_2MASS + 0.058 * (H-K)_2MASS