Documentation

Documentation Advanced Search

Advanced Search

Advanced Search is a browser interface to all the data collections stored at CADC. Queries can be constrained by a wide variety of metadata including observation details, position, time and energy. The Results table returned by queries can be filtered and sorted to further refine search criteria. The Results table contains links for data download, previewing of data, full results table download, viewing more information on the observation and execution of related queries.

Basic usage

You can log in with your CADC username and password. This provides authenticated access that allows you to discover files that have protected metadata and download files that have protected data. Your username must be a member of the relevant group for proprietary access to be granted.

Advanced Search uses separate tabs for Search and Results, enabling you to switch from one to the other to modify the query.

Search tab

An image of the Search tab is shown below. The upper portion of the tab contains mostly text/numeric boxes, whereas the lower portion contains a clickable Additional Constraints section.

  • You can use wildcards (*) in text based searches, and inequalities (< and >) and ranges (..) in numeric searches.
  • The P.I. Name, Proposal ID and Proposal Title fields have an autocomplete function based on values stored in the database.
  • The Target can be the observer-specified target name or a resolved target name or position coordinates.
  • The Additional Constraints section is dynamic from left-to-right, limiting the latter options based on the available archive content.
Advanced Search query tab

In this example the query is constrained by the Observation ID, the resolved target position, the observation date and the collection. You can click on the question mark icon next to each field for an explanation of the field and examples.

Results tab

The Results tab for the above query is shown below.

Advanced Search results tab
  • You can download data by marking rows and hitting the Download button or by clicking on the direct download icon in the Mark column.
  • Mouse over the Preview link to see a thumbnail of the data or click to get a full page preview.
  • Click on the Obs. ID or Product ID links to open a page with detailed information on the observation. This page shows the data model structure of the observation. For more details on the data model see the CAOM2 documentation (where is this to be stored?)
  • Click on fields such as Start Date, Target Name, Proposal ID and P.I. Name to launch another query on these parameters.
  • There is a limit of 30,000 on the maximum number of rows displayed in the results table. You can download a table with the full results of the query by clicking on one of the VOTable, CSV or TSV links.

Advanced usage

You can add a string to the Advanced Search URL to pre-populate some fields in the Search tab. The structure of the URL strings are based on the ADQL query syntax (see below). For example, to perform a query for processed (Calibration Level=2) SCUBA-2 data from JCMT, use

http://www.cadc-ccda.hia-iha.nrc-cnrc.gc.ca/en/search/?collection=JCMT&Observation.instrument.name=SCUBA-2&Plane.calibrationLevel=2&noexec=true

There are two/three additional tabs on the Advanced Search page:
  • Error displays on error message when there is a problem with the query
  • ADQL stands for Astronomical Data Query Language (similar to SQL) and this tab displays the query syntax that you can copy to perform command-line queries using the Table Access Protocol (link to TAP doc?)
  • Help tab - I suggest we remove it.

Search tab

The Target box allows three methods of constraining the target of the observation:

  • Spatial coordinates in either Equatorial or Galactic coordinates in degrees or sexagesimal.
  • Target Name match in the database. This option is selected by clicking on None (Target Name match) in the Resolve with selector. Note that observers have a range of naming conventions so this method is not guaranteed to find all observations of a particular object.
  • Resolved position. This option is selected by clicking on Automatic (Recommended) or SIMBAD or NED or VIZIER in the Resolve with selector. If the target resolving is successful a green tick appears to the right of the text box and a window pops up on the left side with information about the resolved target (see screenshot below).

Target resolving display

For Spatial coordinate and Resolved position searches a radius can be appended to search over a specified area surrounding the target. If not specified, a default radius of 1 arcminute is applied.

For multiple target queries a file can be uploaded with the Choose File button. Each line of the file should contain one target name to be resolved or one position in the same format as required for the Target text box. Click on the eraser icon to remove the target file.

To avoid having to download entire large data files or to obtain a series of data all at a consistent pointing or energy centre, it is possible to do data cutouts by selecting the Do Spatial Cutout or Do Spectral Cutout checkboxes. For Spatial Cutouts the image will have a diameter twice the radius specified in the Target box. For Spectral Cutouts the Spectral Coverage box must contain the spectral range, with values separated by '..'. Note that not all spectral data at the CADC support spectral cutouts.

Results tab

A powerful feature of Advanced Search is the ability to continue to refine queries and reorganise results on the Results tab using filtering, sorting, unit conversion and column configuration.

  • The results table can be filtered by entering text on the "Filter:" row. String columns are filtered using substring matching. Numeric columns can be filtered with inequalities and ranges. When text is entered in the "Filter:" row an autocomplete pop-up box appears with values that can be selected.
  • The results table can be sorted by clicking on any column header. Click again to reverse the order.
  • Fields with units have a unit conversion functionality so you can choose the units most convenient for the type of data. Unit selection is done by clicking on the labelled unit selectors underneath the "Filter:" row. Note that the filtering action depends on the selected units.
  • You can customize the columns. There are too many fields in the database for each observation to fit on the screen. Only a subset of all columns is displayed in the table by default and there is a horizontal scrollbar to facilitate viewing these columns. It is also possible to choose which columns get displayed and the ordering of the columns. The width of each column can be adjusted by dragging the boundary between column headings. Columns can be moved by dragging column headings. More detailed customization can be done with the pop-up that appears when the Change Columns button is clicked. Drag fields from right to left (left to right) or click on the checkbox to make them visible (hidden) in the table. Sort the field names alphabetically using the up-down arrow buttons. The extra buttons at the top of the Change Columns pop-up will display all columns or go back to the default columns.

Contact CADC for Assistance

For help and support with Advanced Search, please email cadc@nrc.ca

Documentation

Documentation Recherche avancée

Recherche avancée

L'interface de navigateur Recherche avancée donne accès à toutes les collections de données stockées au Centre Canadien de Données Astronomiques (CCDA). Les requêtes peuvent porter sur une grande diversité de métadonnées, dont les détails des observations, la position, l'heure et l'énergie. Le tableau Résultats de ces requêtes peut être filtré et trié pour circonscrire davantage ces résultats. Il contient des liens permettant le téléchargement de données, la prévisualisation des données, le téléchargement de tableaux complets de résultats, l'affichage de plus amples renseignements sur l'observation et l'exécution de requêtes connexes.

Utilisation de base

Vous pouvez accéder au navigateur au moyen de votre nom d'utilisateur et de votre mot de passe du CCDA. Vous profitez alors d'un accès authentifié qui vous permet de découvrir des fichiers contenant des métadonnées protégées et de télécharger des fichiers contenant des données protégées. Votre nom d'utilisateur doit faire partie du groupe pertinent pour obtenir un accès exclusif.

La page Recherche avancée utilise des onglets distincts pour la recherche et les résultats, ce qui vous permet de basculer de l'un à l'autre pour modifier la requête.

Onglet Recherche

Ci-dessous figure une image de l'onglet Recherche. La partie supérieure de l'onglet contient principalement des champs de texte et de chiffres, alors que la partie inférieure contient une section Contraintes supplémentaires sur laquelle vous pouvez cliquer.

  • Vous pouvez utiliser des caractères de remplacement (*) dans une recherche axée sur du texte ainsi que des opérateurs de distinction (< et >) et des plages (..) dans une recherche axée sur des chiffres.
  • Les champs P.I. Name, Proposal ID et Proposal Title comportent une fonction de saisie automatique axée sur les valeurs enregistrées dans la base de données.
  • La cible peut être le nom cible d'un observateur désigné, le nom d'une cible distinguée ou les coordonnées d'une position.
  • La section Contraintes supplémentaires offre un déplacement dynamique de gauche à droite; le déplacement vers la droite dépend du contenu de l'archive.
Advanced Search query tab

Dans cet exemple, la requête a pour critère l'identifiant de l'observation, la position de la cible distinguée, la date de l'observation et la collection. Vous pouvez cliquer sur l'icône du point d'interrogation à côté de chaque champ pour obtenir une explication du champ et des exemples.

Onglet Résultats

L'onglet Résultats de la requête montrée ci-dessus apparaît ci-dessous.

Advanced Search results tab
  • Vous pouvez télécharger des données en marquant des lignes et en cliquant sur le bouton Télécharger ou en cliquant sur l'icône de téléchargement direct dans la colonne Mark.
  • Amenez le curseur sur le lien Preview pour afficher une vignette des données ou cliquez sur le lien pour accéder à une prévisualisation d'une page complète.
  • Cliquez sur les liens Obs. ID ou Product ID pour ouvrir une page contenant des renseignements détaillés sur l'observation. Cette page affiche la structure du modèle de données de l'observation. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le modèle de données, reportez-vous à la documentation sur CAOM-2.0 (où allons-nous stocker cette documentation?).
  • Cliquez sur des champs comme Start Date, Target Name, Proposal ID et P.I. Name pour lancer une autre requête avec ces paramètres.
  • Il y a une limite de 30000 lignes affichées dans le tableau Résultats. Vous pouvez télécharger un tableau contenant tous les résultats de la requête en cliquant sur l'un des liens VOTable, CSV ou TSV.

Utilisation avancée

Vous pouvez ajouter une chaîne à l'adresse URL de la page Recherche avancée pour inscrire au préalable des données dans certains champs de l'onglet Recherche. La structure de la chaîne URL repose sur la syntaxe de requête d'ADQL (ci-dessous). Par exemple, pour exécuter une requête sur des données SCUBA-2 (niveau de calibration=2) traitées provenant du JCMT, utilisez:

http://www.cadc-ccda.hia-iha.nrc-cnrc.gc.ca/en/search/?collection=JCMT&Observation.instrument.name=SCUBA-2&Plane.calibrationLevel=2&noexec=true

Il y a deux autres onglets dans la page Recherche avancée:
  • l'onglet Erreur s'affiche en présence d'un message d'erreur lorsqu'il y a un problème relatif à la requête;
  • L'onglet ADQL (signifie Astronomical Data Query Language (similaire à SQL)) affiche la syntaxe de la requête que vous pouvez copier pour exécuter des requêtes par la ligne de commande au moyen du protocole Table Access Protocol);

Onglet Recherche

Le champ Target permet trois méthodes de circonscrire la cible de l'observation:

  • avec les coordonnées spatiales sous forme de coordonnées équatoriales ou galactiques exprimées en degrés ou en sexagésimal;
  • avec le nom de la cible inscrit dans la base de données (pour utiliser cette option, cliquez sur Aucun (concordance de Target Name) dans le critère Transformer avec. Veuillez noter que les observateurs ont une gamme de désignations; cette méthode pourrait ainsi ne pas trouver toutes les observations d'un objet en particulier.);
  • avec la position distinguée (pour utiliser cette option, cliquez sur Automatique (recommandé) ou SIMBAD ou NED ou VIZIER dans le critère Transformer avec. Si la distinction de la cible réussit, un point vert apparaît à la droite du champ de texte et une fenêtre apparaît à la gauche des données relatives à la cible distinguée (reportez-vous ci-dessous à la saisie d'écran).).

Target resolving display

Si la recherche porte sur des coordonnées spatiales ou une position distinguée, vous pouvez ajouter un rayon pour préciser l'aire entourant la cible. Autrement, le rayon par défaut est de 1 minute d'arc.

Pour lancer une requête sur plusieurs cibles, vous pouvez téléverser un fichier au moyen du bouton Choose File. Chaque ligne du fichier devrait contenir le nom d'une cible à distinguer ou une position dans le même format, selon le cas, que pour le champ Target. Cliquez sur l'icône de la gomme à effacer pour supprimer le fichier de la cible.

Pour éviter de télécharger de gros fichiers de données ou d'obtenir une série de données centrées sur un point ou une énergie, vous pouvez prélever des données en cochant les cases Découpage spatial ou Découpage spectral. Dans le cas d'un découpage spatial, l'image a alors deux fois le diamètre du rayon précisé dans le champ Target. Dans le cas d'un découpage spectral, le champ Spectral Coverage doit contenir une plage spectrale dont les valeurs sont séparées par "..". Veuillez remarquer que ce ne sont pas toutes les données du CCDA qui acceptent les découpages spectraux.

Onglet Résultats

Une fonction puissante de la page Recherche avancée consiste à préciser davantage une requête et à réorganiser les résultats affichés sur l'onglet Résultats au moyen des filtres, du tri, de la conversion des unités et de la configuration des colonnes.

  • Vous pouvez filtrer le tableau Résultats en saisissant du texte sur la ligne "Filter:". Pour filtrer les colonnes de chaînes, vous pouvez utiliser la correspondance des sous-chaînes. Vous pouvez filtrer les colonnes de chiffres au moyen des opérations de distinction et des plages. Lorsque vous saisissez du texte sur la ligne "Filter:", une fenêtre de saisie automatique apparaît et affiche des valeurs que vous pouvez sélectionner.
  • Vous pouvez trier le tableau Résultats en cliquant sur l'en-tête d'une colonne. Cliquez de nouveau sur le même en-tête pour inverser l'ordre de tri.
  • Les champs affichant des unités ont une fonction de conversion d'unité; vous pouvez ainsi sélectionner les unités les mieux adaptées au type de données. Pour sélectionner une unité, cliquez sur le sélecteur d'unité sous la ligne "Filter:". L'action de filtrage dépend des unités sélectionnées.
  • Vous pouvez personnaliser les colonnes. La base de données comporte pour chaque observation un nombre de champs supérieur au nombre que peut afficher l'écran. Par défaut, le système affiche seulement un sous-ensemble de toutes les colonnes dans le tableau; vous pouvez utiliser la barre de défilement pour visualiser ces colonnes. Vous pouvez aussi choisir les colonnes que vous voulez afficher et l'ordre de ces colonnes. Pour régler la largeur de chaque colonne, faites glisser les limites entre les en-têtes des colonnes. Pour déplacer une colonne, faites glisser son en-tête. Pour personnaliser davantage les colonnes, cliquez sur le bouton Gérer l'affichage des colonnes afin d'afficher une fenêtre contextuelle. Faites glisser les champs de droite à gauche ou de gauche à droite, ou cochez la case pour afficher ou masquer une colonne du tableau. Triez les champs en ordre alphabétique au moyen des flèches haut et bas. D'autres boutons à la partie supérieure de la fenêtre Gérer l'affichage des colonnes affiche toutes les colonnes ou ramènent les colonnes par défaut.

Aide du CCDA

Pour obtenir de l'aide ou du soutien en ce qui a trait au service de données, envoyez un courriel à cadc@nrc.ca